• How do I check my Washington Drivers License Status?

    You can check online at the following link: https://www.dol.wa.gov/driverslicense/checkstatus.html

  • Can I get my Washington Drivers License online after a suspension?

    Yes. In most cases you should be able to do so online. You will need to set up an account at License Express.  Then follow the instructions. See link: https://www.dol.wa.gov/licenseexpress.html

  • What are typical DUI conditions of release for a “first” time DUI?

    Typical Conditions for a 1st time DUI offense are as follows: Not operating a motor vehicle without a valid license or insurance; No refusal of a breath/blood/drug test upon reasonable request of law enforcement officer; No new criminal law violations or alcohol-related infractions; No consumption of alcohol, THC, controlled substances or non-prescribed medications; No driving with a BAC over .08 within two hours after driving; Appear for all scheduled court dates; Report any change of address to the Court.

  • What do I need to complete my alcohol drug evaluation?

    The evaluator will need the following to complete the evaluation:  (1) abstract of driving record (ADR), (2) defendant’s criminal history (DCH) and a (3) copy of the police report. You will also be required to do a urinalysis (UA) with the evaluation. Cost is typically $150-$250 for the evaluation and UA.

  • How much does an Anti-Harassment case cost?

    Kotlowski Law Office PLLC charges a flat fee of $2500 for civil anti-harassment cases either defending or petitioning subject to some restrictions.

  • Can I get a continuance of my DOL Hearing?

    Yes. You can get one (1) continuance or postponement of your Department of Licensing (DOL) DUI Hearing. You must request it at least two (2) business days before the hearing. Call the number on your DOL Hearing notice.

  • What is the minimum treatment with a DUI?

    Every DUI conviction or reduction (Negligent Driving or Reckless Driving) will require at the minimum an Alcohol Drug evaluation, 8-hour Alcohol Drug Information School (ADIS) and 2-hour DUI Victims Panel. The minimum would only apply if the evaluator finds you have – no significant problem (NSP) with drugs or alcohol.

  • How many days to my license is suspended after my DUI arrest?

    30 days from the date of arrest – if you do nothing. If you request a Department of Licensing (DOL) Hearing within seven (7) calendar days – this time period is extended until the DOL Hearing Officer issues a decision in your DOL case. You usually will receive ten (10) days notice or so before the suspension takes effect after a ruling.

  • What are my options with an outstanding Warrant?

    You can find out what the bail amount is and pay the bail bondsmen for a surety bond. The customary rate is 10% of the bond amount. This amount is non-refundable and is essentially the cost of the bond. The bail bondsmen may also require some additional financial security (i.e. credit card, real estate deed etc.) depending on the facts, type of case, your ties to the community and your criminal history among other factors. For example, if the bail amount is $25,000 you will pay $2500. The second option is to schedule your case for a hearing to quash (cancel) the warrant. The warrant quash procedure can vary significantly by County, City and Court. You should inquire with the Court Clerk of the Court your case is in – for the specific procedure for that Court. Remember, just because you set it for a hearing – does not mean the Court will not still require some bail. However, the chances are better that the amount will be at least reduced, if not completed quashed.

  • Is it worth paying $375 for the DOL Hearing?

    Yes. Even though your chances of success are slim (see previous post) it is always worth requesting a Department of Licensing (DOL) hearing. You just never know what may happen. Worst case is you get a preview of the prosecutors case and often way before the DUI criminal case is filed. I use the hearing for discovery proposes. In other words, to try to find out as much about the client’s DUI case as possible. (review the police report, breath test evidence, talk to witnesses etc.)