• Will I need “SR-22 Insurance” with a Negligent driving first degree conviction?

    No. A reduction of your DUI charge to Negligent Driving First Degree does not require SR-22 Insurance. However, SR-22 insurance will still be required – if you did not win the accompanying Civil Administrative Department of Licensing (DOL) Hearing.

  • What’s the difference between Negligent Driving 1st and 2nd Degree?

    Negligent Driving 1st Degree is a Misdemeanor Criminal Traffic Offense in Washington State. It has a maximum penalty of 90 days in Jail and a $1000 Fine. Negligent Driving 2nd Degree is a traffic infraction (civil – not criminal) with a maximum fine of $250. (although, it is really around $550 with all the court costs etc.) 1st degree involves alcohol or drugs – 2nd degree does not.

    I have resolved several DUI cases over the years with Negligent Driving 2nd Degree. Obviously, that is a great result and the clients were very happy.

  • What are common DUI reductions in Washington?

    Common DUI reductions (from DUI or Physical) cases are Reckless Driving, Negligent Driving and less common Reckless Endangerment. Frankly, the negotiating environment these days is very difficult and the key to getting a reduction or (plea bargain) is having an experienced DUI attorney working on your DUI case.

RECENT POSTS

categories

Archives